351050 - 351062
(was 1501-05, -06)
Observatorio Vulcanologico y Sismologico de Popayan

Calle 5B No. 2-14
Popayan (Cauca)

Telephone :
<![if !supportLineBreakNewLine]>

(57) 8240210
(57) 8242057
(57) 8242341

Telefax :

(57) 8241255

Contact :

Adriana Agudelo

Email :

aThis email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Website :



Scientific Staff :

Maria Monica Arcila - Geologist
Hector Cepeda - Geologist

Bernardo A. Pulgarin - Geologist
Maria Patricia Torres - Geologist
Jaime Raigosa - Geologist
Adriana Agudelo - Geologist
Fabiola P. Rodriguez - Civil Engineer
Ana Maria Correa - Geologist
Elizabeth Betancourt - Electronics
Juan Carlos Diago - Geotechnologist
Luis Eduardo Velez - Electronics

The Observatory began the monitoring at 1990, when the seismograph was installed at Nevado del Huila Volcanic Complex. The Observatory was established permanently from 1992.

The Observatory carry out surveillance to the Nevado del Huila Volcanic Complex, Los Coconucos volcanic chain (LCVC), including the Purace volcano, and the Sotara Volcanic Complex (SVC). These volcanoes are located in the SW of Colombia (Figure 1) and today they are dormant.

Seismology :

- 3 telemetered stations on the NHVC

- 5 telemetered stations on the LCVC

- 1 telemetered stations on the SVC

Deformation :

1 tiltmeter station on the LCVC

Geochemistry :

- Giggenbach and japanese boxes net work

- Samples of hot springs

Planned in 1997 :

- a new telemetered station at NHVC

- a net of mud flow detectors for the NHVC (nine telemetered stations)